A Nightmare!

It was 12 midnight when I was woken up by an uncomfortable dream and I dreamt there was a sharp blow on my forehead, and I heard varieties of loud, and scary laughters. I was drenched in sweat, and my heart was pounding as if I had been running
several miles with wild dogs chasing my back.
I grabbed the water bottle next to the bed, opened the lid tremblingly, drank some water to satisfy my thirst, and tried to go to bed.
Just a few moments later, the same dream woke me up yet again. I was terrified in pain yet again.
I tried to keep my calm, and hoped that the night would not last long, drank some more water and returned to bed.

Gosh, the same dream yet another time.

Tired of the terrifying and painful dream, this time I thought I must somehow keep myself awake for the rest of the night.
Fearing that I would fall asleep just to be woken up by the bad dream, to keep myself awake,
I kept repeating after myself “I am awake, I am awake.” loudly.
While this seemed to have helped, and I succeeded in keeping myself awake, I actually had fallen asleep this time!
Good lord. Finally some sleep, you know.Little did that repeating after myself help, I felt I smashed into something hard, and hurt myself on the forehead, the same dream, yet again.
To my shock, this time for real, I had a red forehead, and could literally hear those loud, and wild laughters.

Guess what, I was in the bus that was heading to office, and those loud and wild laughters were from my fellow passengers, and they kept bursting into laughters as I smashed my forehead into the seat in front of me, and kept repeating ‘I am awake, I am awake!”

That whole damn thing was a dream!
I felt very embarrassed and stopped taking bus to my office from that day.

Nowadays I walk all the way to office. Because those loud and wild laughters are lingering in my head even while I am walking to office, it makes me wonder if I am sleepwalking AND dreaming!

There is a positive side of the story, I must say. The thing about German public transportation: I both admire, and hate it at the same time.
They are so cozy that even an hour of head smacking against the seat I was sitting behind, and the bus did three rounds and went past my office thrice, it was not enough to wake me up. So cozy they are! 😀
(PS: Incident: Fictional. Content: Original!)

 

Leave a Reply

